About This Blog

Our Little Family - Just the Way We Like It!

Our Little Family - Just the Way We Like It!

Only child…singleton…spoiled brats…

The connotations for only children are historically negative. G. Stanley Hall was one of the first experts to give only children a bad reputation when he referred to their situation as “a disease in itself.” Even today, only children are commonly stereotyped as “spoiled, selfish and bratty.”

Parents of only children are often faced with feelings of guilt, condescension, selfishness or just a general feeling that they are “cheating” their child out of a sibling.

Mommy blogs abound across the Internet, but there seems to be a severe lack of information and blogs about a lonely group of parents out there – those who either by circumstances or by choice have become the parents of an only child.  Thus, “My Only Child, My Lion” was born.  I am a parent of an only child by choice, and I plan this blog to be a resource and refuge for all parents of singletons.

About the Name

A fable written by Lokman, an Ethiopian sage of ancient times, shares the following story:

A hare, upon meeting a lioness one day, said reproachfully: “I have always a great number of children while you have only one or two now and then.”
The lioness replied, “That is true, but my one child is a lion.”

2 Comments

  1. Erica said,

    October 6, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    I can’t wait to read more! It might just end up that I have just one child myself, so I look forward to taking this journey with you!

  2. Kristie said,

    October 7, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    So happy you decided to start this blog! I look forward to reading more and would be happy to help you out as a guest blogger! 🙂


Leave a Reply

